PURE ETCR Awards night celebrates the heroes of 2021

The heroes of PURE ETCR celebrated the end of a thrilling season of on-track competition in central Pau at a gala event on Sunday night hosted by Eurosport’s series presenters Neil Cole and Marieta Evans.

King of the Season Mattias Ekström and Head of CUPRA Racing Xavi Serra were formally presented with their awards as the year’s winning Driver and Manufacturer by Series Director Xavier Gavory.

All five event winners also received their prizes at the event, which took place less than 200m from the legendary street circuit that has hosted F3 and F2 grands prix for over 70 years.

A number of special awards were also handed out on the night. Luca Filippi won PURE Thrill for his swashbuckling driving – including that passing move on Ekström for DHL SuperFinal A victory in Copenhagen.

Tom Chilton scooped PURE Fight for his on-track determination and – strangely – some boxing-style dance moves debuted at Vallelunga.

PURE Team-mate went to Dániel Nagy for sacrificing his own starting spot at Pau-Arnos during the draw to help fellow CUPRA racer Mikel Azcona’s chances.

And finally, for their acting abilities in super-spy spoof ‘No time to lose’ and for showing off ‘ahem’ their Parkour skills, the PURE Drama prize was shared by Oli Webb, Mikel Azcona and Jean-Karl Vernay.

More news