Jean-Karl Vernay on pole for DHL SuperFinal B with Time Trial win

Jean-Karl Vernay and Hyundai Motorsport N turned disaster into delight by winning Time Trial B for PURE ETCR’s Race SP and securing pole position for Sunday’s DHL SuperFinal B.

The Frenchman had not even taken part in Round 2 earlier in the day after suffering a driveshaft failure before leaving the pits. But super-quick work by the Hyundai team meant the car was repaired and ready before the Time Trials began.

The fifth of six drivers to complete their one-and-a-half-lap run around the 2.6km MotorLand Aragón layout, Vernay’s time of 1m59.196s was just five hundredths of a second faster than Luca Filippi’s Romeo Ferraris-M1RA Giulia ETCR.

Watch Time Trial B in full here.

Filippi and CUPRA X Zengo Motorsport’s Pool B points leader Mattias Ekström completed the front row of the three-by-three grid as three different manufacturers secured the spots for the second consecutive DHL SuperFinal.

Row Two will comprise Oli Webb (Romeo Ferraris-M1RA), Dániel Nagy (CUPRA) and John Filippi Hyundai).

Time Trial B results

More news