Ekström paces Time Trial B to start DHL SuperFinal B from pole

PURE ETCR series leader Mattias Ekström ensured he will start Sunday’s DHL SuperFinal B from pole position after topping Time Trial B this evening at Pau-Arnos E-Circuit.

The Swede, who heads the race for the world’s first all-electric touring car title into tomorrow’s season finale, was first on-track for the session in his CUPRA e-Racer.

The CUPRA X Zengo Motorsport driver made the most of things in his single-lap run with the maximum 500kW power setting; his 1m26.187s lap just fast enough to edge out the Romeo Ferraris-M1RA Giulia ETCR of Philipp Eng by 0.091s.

Ekström’s lap was fractionally slower than Augusto Farfus had gone in Time Trial A, meaning the Brazilian picks up his second TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy of the season.

Crucially, however, it was quicker than team-mate Mikel Azcona, meaning that in the event of a tie on weekend points, it is Ekström who will take the event victory.

Farfus’ team-mate, Jean-Karl Vernay, who is Ekström’s chief title rival, was third quickest and so completes the front row on the 3×2 grid.

Row 2 will comprise Tom Chilton (Hyundai), Rodrigo Baptista (Romeo Ferraris-M1RA) and Jordi Gene (CUPRA).


More news